First Night Of Taraweeh

Last night was our first night of taraweeh. Last year I don’t remember going to the masjid at all for taraweeh and the year before that, I was pregnant and couldn’t stand for long and had a 1 year old to take care of and the year before that, I had to sit in the back of the masjid to keep my kids under control, so I missed most of the salah. Although I thought I would once again spend most of taraweeh sitting in the back, my kids were unexpectedly very well behaved. My step- daughter, 5 year old daughter, and 3 year old son all stood for taraweeh. I hold my 1 year old………. the whole salah, which you’ll later see was veryyyy long. My 5 year old hung in there until the 6th rakat. I’ve never felt more proud of her than I did standing foot to foot for taraweeh with my little girl. I couldn’t help but smile at her concentration and trying to tough it out. My 3 year old hung in there until the 7th rakat. He didn’t want to sit down, but since he started crouching over, I figured it was time to sit down. My step daughter, who’s 13, stand for most of taraweeh, but her legs got tired so I told her to pray sitting down. After 8 rakats, I expected the witr salat, but when I realized the rakat was much longer than witr salat would be, I realized they prayed 21 rakats there instead of the 11 I was used to at the masjid I usually attend. I muchhhhh prefer 11. I felt like I was praying for hours. Somehow the 11 seems shorter to me even though the rakats are longer. Anyway, Alhamdulillah, I was able to stand for the whole taraweeh. I felt like my feet were on fire and at times like I was about to pass out, especially since I was holding my 1 year old almost the entire time because there were 2 doors for him to leave the musalla so he kept trying to make a mad dash for them.

So today is my first day fasting in years. So far, I feel a little hunger, but I’m trying to keep busy reading Qur’an, folding laundry, blogging (lol). I’ll probably listen to a lecture after this. No tv while I’m fasting, so hopefully this will lead to my ultimate goal of no tv at all. I was so cranky for suhoor. We didn’t get in from taraweeh till about 12:30 and I ate before putting my kids to bed and going to bed myself, so I was pretty tired and I’m not a morning person to begin with. Insha Allah, everyone has a good fast and does beneficial things during their fast. Assalaamu Alaykum.

One thought on “First Night Of Taraweeh

  1. Ramadhan kareem… May we become better muslimahs in this ramadhan and so on my sist… By the way, at what time do u pray taraweeh there? here we usually pray at 7 pm.

    Much love from Indonesia. Wassalamu alaykum

Leave a Reply

