No More Tv Soon

In january insha Allah, I plan to stop watching tv. I watch a whole lot of tv being that I’m a housewife and have a whole lot of time on my hands. I’ve tried to cut back over the months for I don’t know how long, but just haven’t been able to. It’s easier to watch tv with 3 kids in the house, than read, or do other beneficial things. But I’ve been making du’a to be able to pull away from tv and now alhamdulillah, the shows I just had to record and watch immediately the next morning, don’t even interest me much anymore, so Allah is making it easy for me.

I don’t know if I’ll cut the cable off completely because I do still want to be able to watch sports and cooking shows, but I wonder can I avoid the temptation of turning to the other channels and watching shows I know I shouldn’t be.And I guess I can always still watch sports and whatnot on the internet. I don’t what I’ll do all day to fill my 2 year old’s time, who I have unfortunately let watch way too much tv throughout the day, when we’re not playing school, so he has his favorite shows already.

Has anyone stopped watching tv? If so, what do you do to fill your time?

 

7 thoughts on “No More Tv Soon

  1. I think we all know we should stop watching T.V. It has its potential good uses, but 99% of the time it’s a general waste of time. Unfortunately it’s convenient when you have some free time. I think the best thing you can do is exercise your imagination, and it’s what I’m trying to do. Use your imagination to build projects for yourself that use up your time.

  2. As salaam walaykum warahmatullah Sister!

    This post is so interesting to because I am dealing with this situation right now! I did not have TV and cable for a while and I just recently bought a TV and got cable. So far, it has not been that bad. I got the least channels possible so that I would not be enticed to watch MTV or Bravo or Oxygen which are all the channels I used to watch (and LOVE!) before I accepted Islam. I’m still reading and doing other things Alhamdulillah, really just not making a big deal that it’s there now. I still want to maintain that quiet factor and just make sure I’m not spending all my time watch TV. To fill my time I read, work, talk on the phone, and recently I started incorporating exercise…If you decide to cut it all off, you will be just fine Insha’Allah. If you don’t want to cut it all out, try taking channels away that might help. Love you blog by the way, can’t wait to read your other posts!
    -K

    • Wa alaykum salaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu,
      Thanx for reading. I didn’t have cable when I first got married for about 7 months, but once I got it, I was hooked again. I just got a wii, so I’m so excited to play and work out with the games hubby bought me. Lose my post-baby gut. Lol.

  3. Alhamdulillah I have been TV free for a few years now. I also have an 8-year old and a 2-year old. I am a book worm so not watching TV never really bothered me. I do like to keep internet service in my house so I can watch the news and maybe catch one of my VH1 reality shows once or twice a week, but for the most part I use it to listen to Qur’an, lectures, WordPress :), and my children use it the most. My daughter uses it for homeschool and to watch Disney Channel and my 2-year old… well, she just wants to watch Barbie movies on Youtube but even that’s limited. No internet before Dhur Salah and none after Ishaa. May Allah grant you success with TV Rehab. Ameen.

    • I’m tryning to start reading like I used to, but it’s hard to concentrate with these kids running around, “MOMMY, MOMMY, MOMMY”.I’m limiting what my daughter watches as well. Hubby and I blocked some of her channels, she was like, “Uhh, my tv doesn’t work.” Lol. The internet should suffice the kids, I hope.

      • Lol… You’ll be fine. Just when you make the changes try to be consistent cause the moment the kids catch you slippin’, it goes down! Lol. In the beginning the kids may seem like their going through a with-draw… and they probably are but do your best to occupy their time with other things. I used to bake and do arts and crafts and take them out to play in the beginning. After a while they found their own way of living without a TV. And once that happens, it will be easier for you to fall back and read a book because their busy doing something else… even if it is making a mess around the house! Just think, you’ll have another thing to do to fill time 🙂

  4. Alhamdulillah, been t.v. free for years as well. Allah swt is capable over all things. I used to be quite addicted.
    As for what I do with my time – subhanallah no such thing as free time lol – Memorize Qur’an, Read books, Increase in knowledge, sooo much to do.

Leave a Reply

