Back To School Night

I just got back from my daughter’s back to school night. Alhamdulillah, my mom was able to come watch the kids, so I was able to go solo. I got there a few minutes early and parked. As soon as I started to walk to the school, a woman stared at me from afar as I approached. Ok, great start. I saw her teacher and assumed I was supposed to follow her to the classroom or something, but she directed me to the cafeteria after I stood there looking like a lost child for 2 min.s. In the cafeteria, I quickly grabbed a seat in the back, which ended up being a bad place to sit because when the speeches were about to begin, they removed the separator between the grades, so I ended up having a bunch of people sitting behind me. So the speeches and introductions began as a little girl constantly stared at me. Boy, was she annoying. I had a book I was reading before the speeches started, so I tried my best not to pay her any mind, but without my book, she was hard to ignore. Then a couple came and squeezed in between me and the other women in my row. And I say squeezed between the man was big and kept rubbing against, which highly aggravated me. Then we finalllllly went to the classes to meet with the teachers. My daughter is in a special needs class, for speech therapy, so there’s only about 5-6 students in her class, but I was the only parent who came. I didn’t mind at all because now I could have 1 on 1 time with the teacher and not have to worry about the stares since her teacher was pretty used to my niqab by now. She told me all about my daughter’s progress and what they would be learning this year and so on. I was so touched when she told me a little boy in the class asked her why my daughter had to cover her hair and the teacher explained why, and she said my daughter beamed with pride that she wore a khimar. Aww. I had to laugh when the teacher told me she asked my daughter what she wanted to draw in class and she said my daughter responded by saying, “Well, my mommy told me not to draw people, so I’ll draw a rainbow.”. It was funny because I tell my daughter not to draw people or animals (things with souls), so when she sees someone drawing a person or animal, she’ll say, “Mommy, why he drawing people? Allah don’t like that.” After a while and realizing no other parents were coming, I lifted up my niqab because my face was hot and hey, they were no men around. I was quite surprised she didn’t show the usual shock I get when I wear niqab into a place and then lift it, if it’s only women. I appreciated her acting normal. It was a good experience. Her teacher was very informative and seemed nice. So we talked for a while more about our other kids and then I flipped down my niqab and headed towards the exit. Got stares on the way out, but just played with my phone and kept it moving.

Leave a Reply

