Niqabi At School

Since my daughter still has yet to get transportation to school, I’ve still been dropping her off and picking her up. Friday and this morning, my husband was awake, so we all took her to school, which made it much less awkward for me, but when I pick her up, I’m usually waiting by her exit for 3-7 min.s, so at that point, it’s pretty hard not to notice the stares and head turns. One girl waved, but the rest just stare and some tug at their parents sleeves like, what the heck is that?

On friday, my daughter’s abaya was a bit too long and she kept tripping on it. I wanted to hem it, but my dear daughter told me no, she liked it like that. I think she’s had a change of mind now. So when I picked her up on friday, her teacher informed me the kids had gym on mondays and thursdays, so maybe I could put a shorter outfit on her these days. So today she had on a floor length skirt (that I made, yayyyy) and a long sleeve shirt. I thought this would be ok, but when I picked her up today, the teacher told me she had fallen on her face in gym class because the skirt was too long. She said she knew, religiously, we had to dress modestly, but she was concerned for her safety. While I understood she wasn’t coming from a bad place, I was still taken back. So I walked back to the car trying to figure out what the heck she can wear on gym days. I’m still a little lost as to that answer, but insha Allah, I’ll figure out something.

As for people’s reactions to my niqab at the school, everyday I pass different parents, so I get the same shock everyday. It’s annoying, but I assume most of them would never expect to see this at a school. But I’m gaining more and more confidence and paying less attention to others, which has helped when we’ve went to stores because now I’m getting more used to the attention, be it negative or positive.

Bye, bye from niqabi land.

5 thoughts on “Niqabi At School

  1. Assalamu’alaikum sister! I was just thinking how about really baggy pants? Much like harem pants. The kind that look like a baggy skirt but is actually pants. I don’t know if you’ve seen them.They would be baggy enough to not reveal her figure but help her remain mobile during gym class. Just a thought, I’m not sure if you would be comfortable with it but thought of suggesting it. It’s what I do when I want to stay modest during an active day.

  2. Asalaam Alekoum sister,

    I have discovered myself that there is not much out there for Muslim girls relating to sports clothes. I am designing my own stuff. If your interested I can send you some modest sports trousers – let me know your daughters sizes if you are interested. I added my email but I’ll add a second one just incase it doesn’t load. laurajaynegregory@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

