The Ninja And The Ignorant Boy

Today, when I pulled up at walmart, an overwhelming sense of fear came over me. Surely from shaytan, all at once I heard whispers of why I shouldn’t wear my niqab in, that someone might hurt me, and it would be easier if I just didn’t wear it this once. At first I started to think maybe I should just take it off, but reminding myself that I wear niqab to please Allah, I got out my fortress of the muslim book and read the du’as for when you’re frightened, when you leave the house, and enter the market and I sought refuge in Allah from fearing the people. I took a deep breath and got out the car.

Once inside, I could feel the eyes on me. It eased my nerves a bit when I saw some muslims in the diaper aisle. When I got in the food aisle,  I heard the usual, ‘NINJA’ come barreling out of this little boy’s mouth. Silly me, I expected his mother to admonish him. He said it about 2 more times before I left the aisle, but he wasn’t content with saying it that many times, as he followed out of the aisle screaming, ‘NINJA’, drawing many peoples’ attention to me. On to the next aisle, where he was at again screaming the same, and the same in the next aisle. My daughter asked, “Mommy, who keeps saying ninja?” I replied, “An ignorant little boy, but that’s not nice right? So we don’t do that.” “Ok mommy.” Hmm that was easy. If only his mom could’ve had the decency to do the same with her ignorant son.

When will people learn how to raise kids with manners? Or is just because I’m wearing the niqab? I wonder if her son was making fun of someone in a wheelchair or a dwarf, would she have admonished him? Sadly, I think not.

Bye Bye from Niqabi Land

8 thoughts on “The Ninja And The Ignorant Boy

  1. Your so brave MashaAllah 🙂 InshaAllah one day I will wear Niqab like you!
    Have been reading your posts for a while but never been brave enough to comment…Here I am lol

    Yes people can be ignorant some times…I just make duaa they are guided to Islam 🙂
    ❤ Amirah

  2. Selam Sister, I have been reading your posts and you sound like you are a very strong believer MashAllah, may Allah be pleased with you. I wonder though, why do you wear the Niqab? I am Muslim and I follow EVERYTHING in the Qur’an but I have never come across the obligation of wearing a Niqab, why do you do it if Allah hasn’t stated it as an obligation in the Qur’an?
    I came across another post that gives the evidences from the Qur’an and explains what is necessary and not (with evidences from the Qur’an). I hope it helps you.

    http://wiki-islam.org/category/hijab-2/

    • Assalaamu alaykum. I follow the opinion that niqab is highly recommended. I choose to wear it because I believe it pleases Allah and imitates the wives of the Prophet s.a.w. and the early female companions. If they wore it, why wouldn’t we?

      On the authority of Abu Hurayrah (may Allah be pleased with him), who said that the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said:

      “Allah (mighty and sublime be He) said:

      Whosoever shows enmity to someone devoted to Me, I shall be at war with him. My servant draws not near to Me with anything more loved by Me than the religious duties I have enjoined upon him, and My servant continues to draw near to Me with supererogatory works so that I shall love him. When I love him I am his hearing with which he hears, his seeing with which he sees, his hand with which he strikes and his foot with which he walks. Were he to ask [something] of Me, I would surely give it to him, and were he to ask Me for refuge, I would surely grant him it. I do not hesitate about anything as much as I hesitate about [seizing] the soul of My faithful servant: he hates death and I hate hurting him.”

      Related by Al- Bukhari

      This hadith clearly shows a believer draws closer to Allah by doing that which is optional, so insha Allah this is my goal, to be closer to my Lord and gain good deeds by wearing niqab for Allah’s Pleasure.

      • MashAllah, it is good if you are sincere in this belief and are doing it only to earn Allah’s pleasure.

        I would like to share with you a website that I hope you will find interesting. There are live shows everyday with English simultaneous interpretation, I try and watch it everyday :

        http://en.a9.com.tr/shows.php
        the following link shows extracts from the shows about certain topics
        http://en.a9.com.tr/showdetails.php?id=24

        talking about Allah, Islam and Hazrat Mahdi (pbuh).

      • Allah will lead people to salvation from the dark days of the End Times. He will make use of a servant with superior moral virtues and bearing the title of the Mahdi (he who leads to the truth) to call those people who have lost their way back to the true path. The Mahdi will first wage in intellectual struggle within the Islamic world and will return Muslims who have departed from the true essence of Islam back to true belief and moral virtues. The Mahdi will have three main tasks at this point:

        1. The eradication of philosophical systems that support denial and atheism,

        2. To combat superstition by freeing Islam from the hypocrites who have corrupted it. To reveal and apply true Islamic moral values based on the commands of the Qur’an.

        3. To strengthen the Islamic world politically and socially, to establish peace, security and well-being, and to resolve social problems.

        According to the hadith, the Prophet ‘Isa (as) will return to Earth at the same time as the Mahdi, will principally address the Christan and Jewish world, and will summon them to live by the Qur’an by purging them of the errors into which they have fallen. As Christians follow the Prophet ‘Isa (as) the Christian and Islamic worlds will unite in a single belief, and the world will enjoy a period of great peace, security, happiness and well-being, known as the Golden Age.

        there is more information at this link:
        http://www.awaitedmahdi.com/mahdi01.html

      • I haven’t heard of this person in the Qur’an or sunnah. Yes, Isa will return will the dajjal comes, but no one else. Check if this hadith is authentic and who narrated it.

  3. Selam Sister,

    Believing in Mahdi is not an obligation but a good news for the Islamic community, that is why I wanted to share it with you.

    There are a lot of Hadiths about Mahdi, here are some I could think of and find now:

    “The Mahdi will rule the world just like Dhu’lqarnayn and Sulayman.”
    (Al-Qawl al-Mukhtasar fi Alamat al-Mahdi al- Muntadhar, p. 29)

    “The People of the Cave will be the Mahdi’s helpmates.”
    (Al-Burhan fi Alamat al-Mahdi Akhir al-Zaman, p. 59)

    “The Mahdi will have as many followers as those who crossed the river with Talut.”
    (Al-Burhan fi Alamat al-Mahdi Akhir al-Zaman, p. 57)

    Hadhrat Abdullah bin Mas’ood (R.A.) says that Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) said, “This world will not come to an end until one person from my progeny does not rule over the Arabs, and his name will be the same as my name.” (Tirmidhi)

    Hadhrat Ali (R.A.) narrates that Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) said, “Even if only a day remains for Qiyamah to come, yet Allah will surely send a man from my family who will fill this world with such justice and fairness, just as it initally was filled with oppression.” (Abu Dawood)

    Maybe you know of him but with a different spelling of his name. (I found that this is the arabic version المهدي)

Leave a Reply

