Walking Billboard

I listened to a great lecture from Yahya Ibrahim called  “Oh, Believing Women, Hold Fast To Your Deen”. In it a sister asks about sisters who don’t wear hijab and his response was something I felt might benefit and soften the hearts of sisters who don’t wear hijab. A response I hope makes sisters who don’t wear hijab give it a second thought. He said concerning a muslim woman who doesn’t cover, “SHE IS A WALKING BILLBOARD THAT SAYS ‘I AM CLEARLY DISOBEYING ALLAH IN FRONT OF YOU.'”

I have not written this to offend anyone, but sisters must realize the Qur’an and authentic sunnah clearly command the believing women to wear hijab. Some sisters say wearing hijab or not is a personal choice. But in reality the only choice is I will or will not obey Allah. Hijab is an obligation, not recommended or preferred, but obligatory. There is no choice in the matter. Some sisters don’t wear hijab worrying about what others will think of them, but shouldn’t Allah’s command that precedence above everything else?

Allah says in Surah Al- Ahzab: 59

O Prophet! Tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks (veils) all over their bodies. That will be better, that they should be known so as not to be annoyed. And Allah is Ever Oft Forgiving, Most Merciful.

And for those who still say hijab is a choice after reading this ayat, then Allah says in Surah Al- Ahzab: 36

It is not for a believer, man or woman, when Allah and His Messenger have decreed a matter that they should have any option in their decision. And whoever disobeys Allah and His Messenger, he has indeed strayed in a plain error.

And one ayat is enough for the believers. When Allah commands us something the only response is WE HEAR AND WE OBEY!

Also in the lecture are the following words:

Hijab is DIGNITY

Hijab is HONOR

Hijab is PROTECTION

Hijab is BEAUTY

Hijab is EVERY BLESSED  THAT A WOMAN CAN POSSESS.

I write this only as your sister in Islam, who wants for you what I want for myself, Jannah. If you have found any harshness in this, then I ask that you forgive me.

Here is the link for the lecture

http://www.aswatalislam.net/FilesList.aspx?T=Audio&C=Lectures&T1=Yahya Ibrahim

7 thoughts on “Walking Billboard

  1. Assalamualaikum sister!
    I find your post beautifully put. I feel Hijab is an obligation and one of the rights we women have been given. It is our God given (literally) right to wear it irrespective of what the society or our families say. As a hijab wearing women I feel proud (not because I think I’m anything special) but because, as you have mentioned, hijab is truly a blessing, a blessing given to us by Allah (SWT) himself. I pray that all my sisters will partake in this blessing, Inshallah, and may Allah (SWT) grant us all the strength and guidance to obey and stay on the right path. Ameen!

  2. Hello! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

  3. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say superb blog!

  4. Beautifully said. I remember reading that when that ayaah wad revealed the female sahaabah at the time immediately covered themselves without question. Alhamdulillah. May Allah swt give us all the taqwa to practice or deen to perfection. Aameen.

Leave a Reply

